Drug Crimes – Marijuana Charges

The marijuana laws in Minnesota, as stated in Chapter 152 of the Minnesota Statutes with the other drug laws, states that Marijuana is a Schedule 1 Controlled Substance. The two main crimes that someone is charged with are the possession and sale of the drug. The penalties for possessing marijuana are:

  • Possession of less than 42.5 grams: $200 and possible drug education classes
  • Possession of 42.5 grams to 10 kg: 5 years in prison and $10,000 in fines
  • Possession of 10-50 kg: 20 years in prison and $250,000 in fines
  • Possession of 50-100 kg: 25 years in prison and $500,000 in fines
  • Possession of 100 kg or more: 30 years in prison and $1,000,000 in fines
  • Posession of more than 1.4 grams in an automobile: 1 year in prison and $1,000 in fines

Sales charges result in the following penalties if convicted:

  • Sale of 42.5 grams without remuneration: Up to $200 in fines and possible drug education courses
  • Sale of less than 5 kg: 5 years in prison and up to $10,000 in fines
  • Sale of 5-25 kg: 20 years in prison and up to $250,000 in fines
  • Sale of 25-50 kg: 25 years in prison and up to $500,000 in fines
  • Sale of 50 kg or more: 30 years in prison and up to $1,000,000 in fines
  • Sale of 50 kg or more brought over state lines: 35 years in prison and $1,250,000 in fines
  • Sale to a minor: 20 years in prison and up to $250,000 in fines
  • Sale within a specified location, such as a school zone: 15 years in prison and up to $100,000 in fines

Cultivation is another common marijuana offense. The drug is created from the cannabis plant and people will grow it inside their homes and in their gardens so they can produce marijuana. The plant is easy to grow because all it needs is light, water, and warmth. Because of this ease, it can be grown anywhere. Those that are found growing cannabis for recreational reasons may be found guilty of a federal crime.